Boards and Commissions Links Fireworks Awards Minutes and Agendas Council Clerk Legislation Index Oberlin City Charter

2012 Best Intergenerational Community Award

On March 1, 2012 it was announced that the City of Oberlin had been selected to receive one of the first MetLife Foundation Generations United Best Intergenerational Communities Award to heighten awareness of the importance intergenerational solidarity plays in building strong, supportive communities. 

According to Donna Butts, Executive Director, "The competition was stiff and it was difficult for our blue ribbon panel of judges to narrow the field to only five recipients."  The Oberlin "application rose to the top and we are very excited about honoring the wonderful work underway in your community."  In addition to the City of Oberlin, Generations United and MetLife Foundation are recognizing Georgetown, Texas; Lamoni, Iowa; San Diego County, California; and Virginia Planning District 10 with the award

Robert Blancato, former executive director of the White House Conference on Aging and a partner in Matz, Blancato & Associates, served as a judge in the selection process.  Blancato, who is also a strategic advisor for Generations United noted, “It is said you can live anywhere, but that does not make it a livable community.  These awards signify that a critical component of a livable community is one that fosters an environment where generations live and work together.  The Met Life Foundation/Generations United awards go to five remarkable and robust localities who demonstrate every day that a community is strengthened when all generations are an integral part of its fabric.”

Many people helped put this our award-winning nomination package together, including:

Liz Schultz – Oberlin Heritage Center

Sue Bowers – Mercy Allen Hospital

Jennifer Harris – Oberlin Early Childhood Center

Cindy Nickoloff and Ben Jones – Oberlin College  

Barbara Thomas, Jeni Hoover, and Nancy Freed – Kendal at Oberlin

Heidi Freas and Jill Herron – Welcome Nursing Home

Donna Shurr and John Schroth – Oberlin City Schools

Marlene Telegdy – Oberlin Seniors

And, of course the support letters in the application were particularly important.  Special appreciation goes to Rachel Mentzer, David Sokoll, Scott Broadwell and John Elder for their letters and to many other residents who prepared letters for the application that, unfortunately, we could not include due to application limits.

Contact Information

Scott Broadwell
Council President
Phone: (440) 935-8547
Contact Council President

Sharon Fairchild-Soucy
Vice President
Phone: (440) 775-4031
Contact Council Vice President

Bryan Burgess
Phone: (440) 707-6026
Contact Council Member

Elizabeth J. Meadows
Phone: (440) 775-7025
Contact Council Member

Sharon Pearson
Phone: (440) 452-6607
Contact Council Member

Kristin Peterson
Phone: (440) 775-4652
Contact Council Member

Ron Rimbert
Phone: (440) 775-2343
Contact Council Member

       Download our Official Mobile App

Follow the City of Oberlin on Twitter  'Like' the City on Facebook!

Oberlin City Hall - 85 South Main Street - Oberlin, Ohio 44074 Ph. (440) 775-1531 Fax (440) 775-7208 Copyright © 2014, City of Oberlin. All rights reserved.